Superior Court of California
County of Lake

www.lake.courts.ca.gov
707-263-2374

August 26, 2024

Notice of Unclaimed Funds Proposed for Escheatment

This notice concerns the Superior Court of California, County of Lake’s intent to escheat the sum of
$37,521.60 in the Court’s Trust Fund that has remained unclaimed for a period exceeding three years. A
list of these trust fund deposits is located HERE.

Per Government Code Section 68081.1 “Except as otherwise provided by law, any money, excluding
restitution to victims, that has been deposited with a Superior Court, or that a Superior Court is holding
in Trust for the lawful owner, in a court bank account or in a court trust account in a county treasury, that
remains unclaimed for three years shall become the property of the Superior Court or the State of
California if, after published notice pursuant to this section, the money is not claimed or no verified
complaint is filed and served.”

The Court will publish a legal notice in the Lake County Record-Bee on September 17, 2024 and has sent
letters to potential owners of these funds. If you believe that you are entitled to any of the funds, you
must complete and submit a Claim Affirmation Form and Claim for Money Held. These forms and
instructions are available for download here:

Instructions

Claim for Money Held

Claim Affirmation Form

Payee Data Record Form

Submit your completed forms and supporting documents to the following address by November 5, 2024:
Superior Court of California, County of Lake
Attn: Finance Department
255 N. Forbes Street
Lakeport, CA 95453


https://live-jcc-lake.pantheonsite.io/system/files/general/list-funds.pdf
https://live-jcc-lake.pantheonsite.io/system/files/general/instructions.pdf
https://live-jcc-lake.pantheonsite.io/system/files/general/claim-money-held.pdf
https://live-jcc-lake.pantheonsite.io/system/files/general/claim-affirmation-form.pdf
https://live-jcc-lake.pantheonsite.io/system/files/general/payee-data-record.pdf

The Court will generally respond to the claim within 30 days. If your claim is accepted, you need to
complete and submit a Payee Data Record Form available above, to receive a check for the amount
claimed and earned interest. To expedite this process, it is recommended that you submit the Payee
Data Record Form with your Claim Affirmation Form and Claim for Money Held. If your claim is rejected,

you may file a verified complaint in the Superior Court of California, County of Lake (Government Code
Section 68084.4(f)).

If no claim is filed by November 5, 2024, the money will become the property of the Court or the State.
If a claim or claims are filed and approved for a portion of the money, any remaining unclaimed portion
will become property of the Court or that State of California (Government Code Section 68084.1(f)).



